Somerset Golf Union

The Presidents Trophy

2020 Trounson & Presidents Trophy will be played at Bath GC on Sunday 13th September. Entry in to the Presidents trophy is not available to individual players. You must be a named member of your clubs  team(s) of 4 and as such the Presidents entry is covered within the team entry.  The Presidents Trophy is an individual competition incorporated into the playing for the Trounson Trophy. It is a handicap event with the best net score winning the Trophy.

The Trounson and Presidents Trophy 2020 is now open for entry


Our thanks goes to Bath GC for hosting this year’s event and a welcome sunny day greeted the 72 competitors on Sunday the 8th September a stark contrast to last year’s event.

The County President and Bath member Geoff Ogden greeted every one on the 1st tee as play got underway at 8.20 am. Playing in 3 balls scores were on the whole higher that was expected but there are always exceptions to the rule.

The Presidents Trophy was won by Andrew Taylor from Worlebury GC with a nett 66. In 2nd from Brean GC Phil Hodgson and 3r Dann Allen from Mendip. The best gross of the day was won by Kelvin Green from Bath GC.

The early team leaders saw Worlebury Originals clinging on to their lead long in to the afternoon only for two teams at the tail end of the field to force them in to 3rd place.

The Tournaments rules state that if the best 3 out of 4 scores are tied then the 4th score counts and so it was as The Mendip and Clevedon were equal on a combined nett score of 222 with Clevedon winning with the better 4th score.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.