Somerset Golf Union

Trounson Trophy Past Winners

The Trounson Trophy is an annual strokeplay competition run by Somerset Golf Union where all clubs in the county have the opportunity to enter a team of 4 players {prior to 1983 the competition was for three players in each team}.

The competition is traditionally held at the club of the county President. Each teams final score is the sum of their best three net scores with the worst score being discarded. The Trounson Trophy goes to the team with the lowest total net score.

Year  Winning Club  Representatives
1953 Weston Super Mare G T Irlam E J Poole G Payne
1954 No data
1955 Saltford R H Taylor A Cook T Hill
1956 No data
1957 Bath W Feaver P Capell L V Powell
1958 Saltford R J Coombs J Iles D Edwards
1959 Saltford T Hill A Rolfe M R Nicholls
1960 Worlebury T R Jones M Valentine R Landale
1961 Worlebury D Hemming A Wells C Collier
1962 No data
1963 Saltford D Edwards J Iles R Haydon
1964 Weston Super Mare A C Moseley M Exton W P Kelly
1965 Burnham & Berrow J M M Richardson C R T Laws G V Ledger
1966 Clevedon T E Knott J Kane J Payne
1967 Bath F McGarry A W Digby J W Holmes
1968 Saltford R H Haydon J Iles N Butler
1969 Worlebury A L Pickering R V Peacock L Collier
1970 Clevedon J Kane T W Jones P Sprage
1971 Mendip J S Langdon I J Evans A W J Hancock
1972 Burnham & Berrow Sir R Hollis A J Hill P G Giblett
1973 Enmore Park R M S Lamb M Chilcott L Bulle
1974 Saltford M Rudd R H Haydon R Wilshire
1975 Minehead & West Somerset C G Barrett P Harrison J E Way
1976 No Competition
1977 Clevedon B Taylor I Sinclair P Tossell
1978 Taunton & Pickeridge T DMinchin R G Rendall W J Thompson
1979 Minehead & West Somerset K B K Jones R Dibble G Hudson
1980 Wells N Pring G Davis P Knott
1981 Bath C Edwards G C Roberts D J Bray
1982 Taunton & Pickeridge R James P Wathen W Thompson

The number of players in a team changed from three to four in 1983

1983 Taunton & Pickeridge I Clare B Mowforth A Mowforth  B Waite
1984 Brean D Beevers D Doley R Wadeley  B Thomas
1985 Taunton & Pickeridge M W Wathen A Brackenridge I Clare  M Green
1986 Clevedon G Say A Robertson T Beer  J Williams
1987 Clevedon A Bakey A Robertson T Beer  J Williams
1988 Mendip J Hargraves S Crick B Newton?  A Stephenson
1989 Minehead & West Somerset A J Pendray J Gould S Plenty  I Groves 
1990 Burnham & Berrow K W Keyte K J Keyte N E Keyte  R W Keyte
1991 Wells J Slade S Palmer G Scholes  T Williams
1992 Clevedon J Woodward T P Tossell B S Stanton  C Andrews
1993 Wells B Lander M Wickham P Williams  D Stockman
1994 Enmore Park A March D Dixon G Cook  K Budd
1995 Clevedon S Holman R Perrett D Perrett  B Mulholland
1996 Bath 'C' M Derrick D Hawkins G Johns  N Holmes
1997 Bath 'A' J Woods J Larcombe N Sheppard  J Galley
1998 Enmore Park 'A' D Dixon K Budd G Legg  G Cook
1999 Enmore Park 'A' D Dixon K Budd G Legg  G Cook
2000 Bath D Whittaker M Jacobs J Wood  J Calvert - Jones
2001 Oake Manor S Greaves D Jewell J Ball  P Coleman
2002 Worlebury B Coles A Wells J Lane  K Lane
2003 Clevedon D Bunniss J Moores M Cadwgan  A Codley
2004 Taunton & Pickeridge C Nicholls S Richards C Coxon  M Walls
2005 Farrington C Gamble   S Woodward   J Ashby  T Crews
2006 Farrington R Wait   R Kefford   M Chedgy  K Brimble
2007 Burnham & Berrow J Whitcutt   J P Lane   P Lismore  C Hill
2008 Saltford W Hunt C Edwards

M Brittan

 M Lea
2009 Saltford L Canter L Boston M Brittan               M Lea
2010 Minehead & WS W Knight C Sydley-Adams D Farmer  C knight
2011 Clevedon J Green J Cunning P Reynolds  C Andrews
2012 Weston-super-Mare S Corrick  C Homer  S Fernley  A Balcombe
2013       Frome J Phillips T Atkinson T Chapman A Martin
2014 Burnham & Berrow M Wilkins N Darby C Hill A Deakins
2015 Long Sutton P Wills G French J Elliot I Brown
2016 The Mendip M Srawley S Butland T Chapman S Pocock




Long Sutton

R Littlewood M Hodges P Faulkner M Hodges
2019 Clevedon B Anderson A Darney S Jones J Vickerstaff

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.